Pinecones and such...
----------------------------------------------
Yes @ October 10, 2001 10:16 p.m.

menu

new
old
email
cast
profile
book

links

diaryland
cdesign
diary reviews
so vain
dlks

reads

cactusgirl
willoweyesee

Two minutes until the bell, maybe. I sit at Mrs. Wells' desk/table while the rest of the band moves around me, putting up instruments and pulling on overloaded backpacks. My eyes drift naturally to Jonathan, who is across the room snapping the case of his baritone shut before putting it back on the shelf. My pulse quickens as he walks toward me, but dies back down as he passes me without even slowing. He stops in the corner beside the foyer and swings his backpack onto his shoulders. I look back down at the table, telling myself not to be so naive. No way is he going to ask me to Homecoming.

I look up, and he's walking toward me again. My heart takes a ride on the loop-de-loop, and he stops at the table. "Nell?" he says.

"Yes?" I'm amazingly calm. This is not happening.

"I know this is short notice..." (oh holy crap this is happening) "but will you go to Homecoming with me?"

My heart completely detaches itself from my body and takes a joy ride around the band room while I look up at those beautiful blue eyes and say... "Yes." Of course, you idiot!

He smiles with relief. "Okay then." A pause. "Do you have any idea how much guts it took to say that?"

I stand and look directly at him. "Do you have any idea how much guts it took to chase you for two years?"

"Probably more than I know," he says.

The band continues wandering about, gathering in the foyer waiting eagerly for the bell to ring, completely unaware that I have just been asked on a date by the guy I have loved for a year, a feeling which I despaired of ever being returned.

"Thank you," I say. He doesn't seem to know quite what he did to earn this, but he makes an acknowledging noise anyway.

We stand by each other for a few moments, perhaps contemplating this sudden turn in our relationship. I was, anyway. He was just standing there and grinning.

This is happening!

(there is, of course, quite a bit more to this story, even a bit involving a rose, but this was the final result and i don't feel like typing anything else right now because aside from having a really weird/wonderful week, i have been reading charles dickens for the past three hours, and let me tell you, that'll do stuff to your brain. the whole story later, perhaps, but only if you tell me you want it. see the guestbook? the guestbook is calling you... sign me... sign me...)

prev/next