Pinecones and such...
----------------------------------------------
Possessions and self-restraint @ May 8, 2001 5:29 p.m.

menu

new
old
email
cast
profile
book

links

diaryland
cdesign
diary reviews
so vain
dlks

reads

cactusgirl
willoweyesee

I haven't updated in a while because I've had too much to say. But now my thoughts have simplified.

I went to student orientation at ASMS a while ago. There were two people in my group that I knew from Arts Encounter. The counselor looked impressed at my 32 on the ACT. Whoopdedoo. That was easy. Some really good-looking guy borrowed my graphing calculator for the math/science placement test. I mean, that boy was yummy. And he was nice, too. If only I knew his name... Anyway, I was the last one finished with the test. How embarrassing. Hmm. Can I spell? The math part was easy. The science part was hard. For me, anyway. Who knows where I'll end up.

Did I mention that I'm getting a computer? I'm very happy about that. It's on order right now. It's a Dell with a Pentium III processor at 1 ghz. 236 mb 133 mhz RAM. 40 gig hard drive. Zip drive. 16x CD-RW drive. DVD-ROM drive. And, of course, floppy drive. Yea!

I have a fish too. I recently inherited him from my aunt. He's red betta named Silent Bob. He was named Pepper, but I really prefer to name my fish after fictional drug dealers. Bob is a nice fish, though he does have some suicidal tendencies.

I stayed after school to day to help an old friend with the high school's pathetic literary magazine. At least it's better than last year's. I won 2nd place in poetry for "Night Run" and third place in fiction for "Echo of Nightfall." Yea me. But I'm not supposed to know that yet.

I have to be at the middle school auditorium in forty minutes for the band concert. I'm looking forward to that. I love concerts! Plus, once this is over we'll never have to play "Folk Song Suite: Movement 1" or "Gathering of the Yeomen" ever again. I despise those songs. We're also playing a Phantom of the Opera thing, "The Case of the Mysterious Stranger," "Triumphant Fanfare," and "Folk Song Suite: Movement 3." I love the Phantom thing, even though I'm playing third part. Andrew Lloyd Webber is a genius. "Triumphant Fanfare" is incredibly easy, which probably explains why I'm on first part. I'm on second part on all the rest, including "... Movement 3," which is one awesome song.

Jamie and Jonathan weren't at school first period today, which was unfortunate as that was band. So I figured they wouldn't be there the rest of the day, right? But then when I was walking out of biology (second period) with Jeremy, going to the cafeteria for lunch, there was Jonathan. And he was wearing the exact same thing that I was! (jeans and our marching show shirt) Augh! That freaked me out!

I have a box to send to Mary, but we're out of packing tape. Grr. And speaking of Mary, I read her poem "Concrete Angel in the Rain" in English today. (We were having a poetry reading.) It's a pretty dark poem, and it seems that everyone else was reading poems out of Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul or Where the Sidewalk Ends. I think I freaked them all out. But it's a much better poem than those dippy Chicken Soup ones. Read it at Plotbunnies.

Um... well... I think I'll go feed Bob.

prev/next