Pinecones and such...
----------------------------------------------
You're my butterfly, sugar, baby @ April 22, 2001 3:54 p.m.

menu

new
old
email
cast
profile
book

links

diaryland
cdesign
diary reviews
so vain
dlks

reads

cactusgirl
willoweyesee

As I said, the rain in Spain falls mainly on my brain. But no one believes me. Ah, the pain, the sorrow!

Well, anyway... I'm moving. That's right, I got accepted to ASMS, and am moving to Hot Springs come August. Some of the courses I'll be taking: 3D Graphics and Animation, Visual Basic, E.A.S.T. Lab, Computer Aided Design, 3D Art... ::drool::

It's pretty much fate that I'm ending up there, I think. It's the result of a set of coincidences... see? I had study hall during period 1A. At the end of the first week of school, the librarian came in and asked me if I'd work in the library that period because she didn't have enough help. Now, I really didn't want to go, as the teacher had put us in alphabetical order, and I'd somehow ended up exactly across from Jonathan. But of course I didn't want to hurt the nice lady's feelings so I went anyway. And there I was one morning, sitting behind the desk, when the school counselor came out of the reference room and asked me if I wanted to go to the ASMS recruitment meeting, which just happend to be period 1A in the library. And I just happened to not have any homework to do. So I went in. When I came out, I wanted to go. Before I went in, I wouldn't have given it a second thought.

So there you go.

Mother and I went shopping yesterday at the new strip mall by Wal-Mart. I liked it better when it was a tree-covered hillside, but oh well. Commerce must go on in order to support our free market economy, right? So I got a wedding and shower present for my brother and his fiance. And Mother bought me a pretty dress at Goody's. It's short and black and has flowers embroidered all around the bottom. She also got me some lightning bolt earrings, a la Harry Potter, which I'm wearing right now. I got a CD single at On Cue, which has five different versions of Crazy Town's "Butterfly." Man I LOVE that song. It's tough, but it's so sweet...

Solo & Ensemble was on Friday. Jamie and I got a I on our duet, "Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2" by Franz Liszt. (Umm... I think that's how it's spelled. Right. Don't ask me.) Mr. and Mrs. Wells were not, of course, proud of us. They just said it was too easy. Screw them, I say. We worked hard on that song and we did a good job. Just because it doesn't have any freaking sixteenth notes doesn't mean it's baby music.

Our judge was interesting. We went in the band room and he couldn't find our sheets. So he made us some new ones, and gave us the life story of Franzy-boy while he did. Jamie was in nervousflatter mode and acted EXTREMELY interested. It was funny.

JUDGE: Franz Liszt... we talked about him in class today.

JAMIE: Ohhhh really?

JUDGE: He was an amazing piano player. When he played, it sounded like three people.

JAMIE: Woooooooow...

JUDGE: He had some problems though.

JAMIE: Oh no! What were they?

JUDGE: He had, errr, women problems.

JAMIE: Oh no! How terrible!

JUDGE: But later he became a minister, so...

JAMIE: So he reformed?

JUDGE: I guess so. You may play now

Jamie and I play. When we are finished, we stand up and start walking toward the door.

JUDGE: He was very handsome, you know.

JAMIE: Just like you!

Okay, not really. That's what she almost said.

JAMIE: Well, I'll just have to find a picture of him!

I drag Jamie out of the room.

So yeah, that was interesting... And I wasn't surprised when we got a I. Maybe our judge was doing a little womanizing himself.

Jeremy got a II. He wasn't very happy. His solo was a grade 4 and he'd worked on it for two years. So it goes.

Well, my house is being invaded by English majors.... Horrors! Horrors!

prev/next